Back on the scone hunt

And boy has it intensified. It has been very long – too long – since I last posted on here which is not okay. However, this has not been due to a lack of scones. Quite the opposite especially recently. Here is some math and a picture to reflect the high quality of friends I have found:

9 scones Sunday + 8 scones Monday = 17 scones in 2 days

img_6273

img_6263

Basically, two of my good friends here gifted me 17 scones. What more does one need in life?

And now, here I am happily munching on yet ANOTHER scone that I purchased from Caffe Nero because I’m a fiend and can’t control myself. And because my roommate and I decided to study here. Here’s the rundown.

img_62771Not going to lie, I’m pretty proud of my artsy angle on this picture. I included the coffee in there, but let’s be real, who’s paying attention to it anyway?

img_62781Did I actually buy 2 scones? Of course I did. Left is peach pecan and right is chocolate chip.

img_62791The scone’s innards.

Initial impression: I was waiting in the rather long line (and by long I mean 4 people but it just seemed long because the place was so small that the line took up a lot of space relative to the size of the cafe) and of course, my eyes scanned the baked goods section. I saw the usual cookies, muffins, danishes (more on danishes/tarts/pies in another post), and brownies and honestly wasn’t expecting to see scones. And then, peeking out from behind the display of (honestly who knows what and who really cares) croissants (?), I see some round scone-looking things. At the moment, I couldn’t get a good look at them because all of the people in front of me were in the way (and I’ve realized that I really turn into a grouch when I’m trying to get to scones). I was going to ask one of the very busy cafe workers whether they were scones and, if they were, what kind of scones they were. To my great fortune, the girl in front of me asked and I eavesdropped into the cafe worker’s response. Spinach and something (I don’t really give salty scones the time of day because that’s what biscuits are for now aren’t they?), chocolate chip, apple walnut, and peach pecan. And also to my great fortune (because there was only one chocolate chip scone remaining), the girl decided NOT to buy a scone and instead went with a muffin (her loss). When the line moved forward, I approached the scones to get a better look. They looked a bit like bread rolls with a crunch texture on the top. Imagine those packaged bread rolls you get on the plane that are always cold. And in case you don’t know what I’m talking about…

airplane-dinner-roll

Of course it didn’t look exactly like that, and luckily it didn’t taste anything like that either but the appearance of the scone was eerily similar to that bread roll. The size (about 3 inches in diameter and 2 inches high) is a little sad though I think my expectations for size are a bit over-exaggerated (for me, the bigger the better). But I’m willing to look past it.

Texture: The outside texture is a bit odd. It’s crunchy but in a powdery way. So when you bite the outside, it crumbles into a million pieces in your mouth. The best comparison I can make is that the outside texture is like the texture of Eet Sum Mor biscuits which I believe are British. I know, really obscure. Also, why am I comparing this scone to a strange cookie that no one has heard of and where did I ever encounter such a thing? When I was in Tanzania over the summer, I think I had one really long 10-week craving for scones (I had just been in Chapel Hill where I was able to enjoy TPS for an entire week). Typically, when I have a craving and I don’t want to give in to my craving, I eat around my craving until I’m so dissatisfied with everything I have eaten that I end up eating what it is I was craving in the first place. Of course, this was not possible in Tanzania as they don’t have scones (I was hopeful that they would and maybe they do because they were a British colony, but they definitely didn’t have any in the small town where I was). So my solution was to eat around my craving and the closest thing I could find was cookies (I know, how convenient). So I spent much of my time in Tanzania eating cookies and all types of cookies including these Eet Sum Mor biscuits. In the process, I discovered the wonders of reduced fat Digestive Cookies. Anyways, returning back from the long aside. The inside texture of the scone is pretty good. It has the perfect moistness to dryness ratio though the perfect texture on the inside is slightly disrupted by the crunchy powder outside.

Taste: The taste is pretty much on point. The chocolate chips are small so they don’t overwhelm the taste buds. The dough part is slightly sweet but not too much so which marries well with the sweet chocolate chips. (Also, I just ate a piece of only inside and while there was no outside to disrupt the texture, it was very odd to eat such a soft piece of scone.)

Overall rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

